A Central Texas driver was stopped by the Itasca Police Department, and officers found 22 bundles of vacuum sealed marijuana inside the vehicle.

Get our free mobile app

Each bundle contained about a pound of various strains of marijuana, according to KWTX. The driver was traveling from Oklahoma City to Harker Heights earlier this week when the discovery was made by police. The suspect was taken to Hill County Jail and charged with Delivery of Marijuana over 5 and less than 50 pounds.



What Is the Punishment for Selling Marijuana in Texas?

Norml.org states that sale or delivery of between 5 pounds and 50 pounds of marijuana is a second degree felony, punishable by a mandatory minimum of 2 years imprisonment, a maximum of 20 years, and a fine not to exceed $10,000.

In Oklahoma, adults 21 and older can legally possess up to eight ounces of marijuana.

Legalizing Marijuana in Texas

More than a quarter of states in the U.S. have legalized recreational marijuana use, and marijuana is allowed for some medical treatment in most of the country. Recreational marijuana use is still against the law in Texas, but the state does have a medical marijuana program that has been expanded as recently as last year.

Right now, if you have up to two ounces of marijuana in Texas, you’re committing a Class B misdemeanor. The punishment for this crime is up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. Possession of over two ounces could result in up to a year in jail, and possession of more than four ounces is a felony, according to KVUE.

Officials estimated the street value of the marijuana to be between $50,000 to $60,000 based on where it came from in Oklahoma to its destination in Harker Heights.

Read More: It's a Green Light - Austin, Texas Vote Approves Initiative on Weed

States Where Recreational Marijuana is Legal

A fun collection of facts and photos! Learn which states have legalized recreational marijuana and when, plus some weed facts you may have never known.

Bet You Didn't Know: 10 Bizarre Texas Laws Still on the Books

Many states still have strange laws on the books that aren’t enforced or taken seriously anymore, and Texas is no exception.

Most of these laws are just funny now, but at one time, there was a valid (or at least somewhat valid) reason for them to exist.

Texas has plenty of strange rules and regulations that you could technically be prosecuted for if you violate them, since they've never been amended. Some of these are only for specific cities and not state-wide, but all of them are pretty odd!

Let's take a look at 10 of the weirdest ones in the Lone Star State.