Ban on Texting While Driving Goes Into Effect September 1st
Governor Abbot signed HB 62 Tuesday so now you might want to keep that phone in your pocket when you get behind the wheel.
Chrone is reporting that it's going to be illegal, starting September 1st, to operate a phone to "read, write, or send an electronic message while operating a motor vehicle unless the vehicle is stopped."
If cited and found guilty you could be fined from $25 to $99 for a first offense.
455 people were killed and more 3,000 seriously injured in Texas last year in vehicle crashes do to distracted driving, according to the Texas Department of Transportation.
Now remember. If you see someone texting, one thing you don't want to do is film them with your phone, because then you'll be breaking the law. And if you'll prove them to be guilty, while proving yourself guilty as well.